Growing Growers ICT 

 

Workshop and event series

Core workshops:

Monday March 29, 2021 1-4 pm Crop planning and seedling production Register Here (Online)
Monday April 12, 2021 1-4 pm Building and managing healthy soils Register Here (Online)
Monday May 10, 2021 1-4 pm Starting a farm and farm business management (Online)
Monday June 7, 2021 1-4 pm Postharvest handling and food safety (Online)
Monday June 28, 2021 1-4pm Integrated pest, weed, and disease management (Online, in in conjunction with Growing Growers Kansas City)
Monday July 12, 2021 1-4pm Small farm equipment and drip irrigation (In-person)

Learning opportunities:

Saturday April 17 1-2pm and 2-3pm Seed starting and healthy soils demonstration Register Here (limited in-person participation)
  Rescheduled!  Day and time TBD Tour at Rommey Farms, Cassoday KS (Friday, May 21)
Wednesday April 28 4-6pm Tour at Meadowlark Farm Orchard and Cidery – Register here! 
Tuesday May 4 4-6pm Tour at Strong Roots Healthy Farming, Valley Center KS
Monday June 15 4-6pm Tour at Teck Farms, Hutchinson KS
Saturday June 26 8-10 am Kansas Grown! Farmers Market Field Day
Monday August 23 4-6pm Tour at Legacy Garden Works
Saturday August 28 8-10am Old Town Farm & Art Market Field Day
Monday September 13 2:30-6:00pm

Two part event: (register for either or both parts here)

1) Common Ground Mobile Market Field Day (2:30-3:30)

2) Farm Tour at Serenity Farm – equipment focus (4-6pm)

Saturday September 25 9am-1pm Community Garden Tour (Register here)
Tuesday September 28 11:30am-1:00pm

“A Taste of Local:” Lunch & Learn for Young Professionals (in partnership with W)

Register here

Saturday October 2 Afternoon (Time TBD)

Research Field Day at 10th St. Orchard in Sterling, KS

“Trial of a combination plasticulture/matted row strawberry production in Central KS”

2021 SARE North Central Farmer/Rancher Grant

Monday September 13 Time TBD Social media and marketing (Online, hosted by Growing Growers Kansas City)
Monday October 11 Time TBD Farm start-up and land access (Online, in conjunction with Growing Growers Kansas City)

 

Stay tuned for more 2021 events! Farm tours, demonstrations, field days, activities, and networking events will be scheduled throughout the season.

While we are planning and hoping to host many of these summertime events in person, most of the spring the workshops will be held virtually via Zoom. We will do our best to include virtual tours and interactive components to keep the workshops lively, until we are able to meet in-person again!

Stay updated on workshops changes and when registration is live by liking our Facebook page.

Workshops cost between $5 and $10 to attend. Updated information on prices can be found on the registration pages when they are live.

 

 Questions?

Contact Lyndsay Feather, program manager:

(316) 660-0145 | lfeather@k-state.edu